My Corporate Superstition

Every morning at 9:00 AM as I am about to swipe my access card and enter the office; the guard looks at me and carries on with whatever it is that guards do! But occasionally he will look straight at me, pass a smile and say Good Morning!

This usually has the effect of throwing me off completely; I didn’t expect that, he just bowled a Googly! And every time he says good morning – my day goes unbelievably shitty – so now I have this superstition, and have evolved tactics to defeat it”:

1) Come in really early – like 8:00 AM. This throws the guard off balance. He didn’t expect anyone at this hour. Score!

2) Running Late? No worries I have that covered as well. Take the stairs and enter from the fire exit – usually no one is there.

3) Fail safe precaution: Have headphones on!

Touché mister Guard, Touché!

Leave a comment